Dive Richelieu Rock

Dive at Richelieu Rock

Richelieu Rock in Thailand is still one of the best dive sites in the world.
Let yourself be fascinated by the incredible underwater world. The Richelieu Rock will make your diving hearts beat faster. Regular whale shark & ​​manta ray encounters are commonplace!
There are several theories surrounding the naming, one of which is that of the French diving pioneer Jacques Cousteau Richelieu Rock once gave his name, as he was reminded by the purple soft corals of a cardinal robe, Cardinal Richelieu. Another theory (Wikipedia) says that once a French nautical chart surveyor has worked to make sure that this incredible underwater jewel was not seen as an obstacle to shipping and was blown up, his name Captain Richelieu ...

An incredible underwater flora & fauna awaits you. Schools of juvenile fish sometimes find it difficult to recognize Richelieu Rock from the sheer number of fish. Regular schools of barracuda pull their tracks. Snappers, mackerel, soldier fish ...
For the Macro Friends, the Richelieu Rock offers a great variety of life to be discovered. Seahorses, frogfishes, harlequin shrimp, snails, mantis shrimps to mention just a small selection.

Richelieu Rock is part of the Surin National Park, about 15 km from the Surin Islands, and is a dive site in the open ocean suitable as well for less experienced divers. Advanced Open Water Diver or Padi Adventure Deep Dive is recommended.

Dive Day Trips to Richelieu Rock

In the high season from October to April, we drive Richelieu Rock 4 times a week with our own diving boat "Blue Marlin" developed to meet the needs of our divers.
Our innovative tank mounts, behind the seats, leave plenty of room to move around or stretch your legs. Also innovative is our dive platform with 2 large ladders that are rather not to be found on speedboats, but allow you an easy entry and exit into the water.
The speedboat ride takes about 1 hour 20 minutes.

Day trips to Richelieu Rock

Liveaboard / Dive Safaris to Richelieu Rock

Of course, there is also the possibility to dive with selected liveaboard providers in multi-day tours at Richelieu Rock. From 3 days / 3 nights safaris to 5 days / 5 nights, there are selected boats in different cabin classes (eg single or double cabin ) have the Richelieu Rock in the program.
From budget to luxury, the right boat is available for every budget.

Richelieu Rock Diving Safaris / Liveaboards

 

Dive Conditions at Richelieu Rock

Due to the location of Richelieu Rock in the open sea currents can occur at the dive site. However, the fact that the underwater rock reaches up to the surface there is always a side facing away from the current which also makes this place easy for not so experienced divers!
The bottom depth of the Richelieu Rock ranges from 12 meters on the inside to 30 meters on the outside.
A mooring line allows easy descent.

Recommended Level: Minimum PADI Open Water Diver with at least 8 dives, last dive in the last 8 months, the PADI Adventure Deep Dive is recommended.

During high waves, the dive site may not be approached. If safe diving at Richelieu Rock can not be guaranteed, alternative sites will be approached.

Dive Site Map Richelieu Rock

Dive Richelieu Rock

Tauchen am Richelieu Rock

Der Richelieu Rock in Thailand zählt nach wie vor zu den besten Tauchplätzen weltweit.

Lasst Euch von der unglaublichen Unterwasser Welt faszinieren. Der Richelieu Rock lässt eurer Taucherherzen höher schlagen. Regelmäßige Walhai & Manta Rochen Begegnungen sind an der Tagesordnung!

Um die Namensgebung ranken sich mehrere Theorien, eine davon besagt das der französische Tauchpionier Jacques Cousteau den Richelieu Rock einst seinen Namen gegeben hat, da er durch die lilafarbenen Softkorallen an einen Kardinalsrobe erinnert wurde, Kardinal Richelieu. Eine andere Theorie (Wikipedia) besagt das einst ein französischer Seekarten-Vermesser sich dafür eingesetzt hat das dieses unglaubliche Unterwasser- Juwel nicht als Hindernis für die Schifffahrt angesehen und gesprengt wurde, seine Name Captain Richelieu ...

Eine unglaubliche Unterwasser Flora & Fauna erwartet euch. Schulen von Jungfischen machen es manchmal schwer den Richelieu Rock vor lauter Fischen zu erkennen. Regelmäßige Schulen von Barrakudas ziehen Ihre Bahnen. Snappers, Makrelen, Soldatenfische ...
Für die Makro Freunde bietet der Richelieu Rock eine große Vielfalt an Leben das entdeckt werden will. Seepferdchen, Anglerfische, Harlekingarnelen, Nachtschnecken, Fangschreckenkrebse um nur eine kleine Auswahl zu erwähnen.

Der Richelieu Rock gehört zum Surin National Park, ca. 15 km von den Surin Inseln entfernt, und ist ein Tauchplatz im offenen Ozean der auch für nicht so erfahrene Taucher geeignet ist. Advanced Open Water Diver oder Padi Adventure Deep Dive wird empfohlen.

Tauch-Tagestrips zum Richelieu Rock

In der Hochsaison von Oktober bis April fahren wir den Richelieu Rock 4 mal in der Woche mit unserem eigenen, auf die Bedürfnisse unserer Taucher hin entwickelten, Tauchschnellboot "Blue Marlin" an.
Durch unsere innovativen Tankhalterungen, hinter den Sitzplätzen, bleibt ausreichend Platz um sich auf dem Boot zu bewegen oder die Beine auszustrecken. Ebenfalls innovativ ist unsere Tauchplattform mit 2 grossen Leitern die auf Schnellbooten eher nicht anzutreffen ist, Euch jedoch einen einfachen Ein- und Ausstieg ins Wasser ermöglichen.
Die Anfahrt mit dem Schnellboot dauert etwa 1 Stunde 20 Minuten.

Tagestrips zum Richelieu Rock

Mehrtägige Tauchsafaris zum Richelieu Rock

Natürlich besteht auch die Möglichkeit mit ausgewählten Tauchsafari-Anbietern in Mehrtagestouren am Richelieu Rock zu tauchen.Von 3 Tagen / 3 Nächte Safaris bis hin zu 5 Tage / 5 Nächte, bieten sich ausgewählte Boote an, die in verschiedenen Kabinenklassen (z.B. Einzel- oder Doppelkabine) den Richelieu Rock im Programm haben. Von Budget  bis Luxus ist für jeden Geldbeutel das passende Boot vorhanden.

Richelieu Rock Tauch-Safaris / Liveaboards

Tauch-Bedingungen am Richelieu Rock

Durch die Lage des Richelieu Rocks im offenen Meer können am Tauchplatz Strömungen auftreten. Dadurch das der Unterwasserfelsen aber bis zur Oberfläche reicht findet sich immer eine der Strömung abgewandte Seite, was auch nicht so erfahrenen Tauchern diesen Platz zugänglich macht!
Die Grund Tiefe des Richelieu Rocks reicht von 12 Meter auf der Innenseite bis zu 30 Meter an der Außenseite.
Eine Mooring- Leine ermöglicht ein einfaches Abtauchen.

Empfohlenes Level: Minimum PADI Open Water Taucher mit mindestens 8 Tauchgängen, letzter Tauchgang in den letzten 8 Monaten, der PADI Adventure Tieftauchgang wird jedoch empfohlen.

Bei hohem Wellengang kann der Tauchplatz eventuell nicht angefahren werden. Falls ein sicheres Tauchen am Richelieu Rock nicht gewährleistet werden kann werden Ausweichplätze angefahren.

Tauchplatzkarte Richelieu Rock